Uncategorized

The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward

It’s a roller coaster ride that you’ll never want to get off

An incredibly compelling read, with so many revelations as the book goes on, that I feel like I might need to read it again, now that I know the ending.

Eleven years ago, Dee and her little sister Lulu went on a trip to the lake with their parents. By the end of the day, Lulu was gone. Dee has still not given up looking for her. She manages to find a slim lead; a picture of a man said to be a person of interest in the case with the streetsign visible. With this information, she goes looking for him to get answers.

Ted is a strange man who doesn’t really have any attachments to anyone except his daughter, Lauren who comes to visit him sporadically, and his beloved cat, Olivia. He drinks too much, often leaves the house for days at a time, and is just in general a weird guy.

The book is told from multiple points of view. Ted’s point of view is disjointed and strange, and it is almost a relief when the other narrators come out to tell their points of view. The story is also told from Lauren’s point of view, from Dee’s point of view, and from Olivia’s (yes, the cat).

This was a masterfully told tale! There aren’t twists per se, but there are amazing developements that you don’t see coming until the last moment. So many questions are raised in this book, and they are all answered (which is a breath of fresh air for me – I hate when strings are left dangling). This book isn’t generally one of the genres that I read, but I truly enjoed this one!

Thank you to Catriona Ward and to Viper publishing for sending me an ARC via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a comment